Search

National CASA Training Opportunity

Volunteer In-Service Opportunity:


As part of our continued commitment to supporting you, I would like to invite you to attend an upcoming web-based training on diversity, equity and inclusion.


Topic: Understanding Racial Inequality: A Groundwater Approach

Presenter: Racial Equity Institute (REI)

When: Monday, June 29, 2020

Time: 10 AM – 1 PM PT/11 AM-2 PM MT/12-3 PM CT/1-4 PM ET

Cost: Free of charge

To register: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_LKkCMvE0TuWy-cZlYpXr9Q

Please note: registration is limited to 500 attendees.


Number of in-service credit hours: 3


Description:

Understanding Racial Inequality: A Groundwater Approach is an interactive presentation on the nature and impact of structural racism and what it looks like across institutions. We examine narratives around racial disproportionality and make use of compelling research data to illustrate the systemic nature of racism and the fallacy of typical explanations like poverty, education, social class, individual behavior, or cultural attributes that often get associated with particular racial groups. Before addressing racial inequity or perceived acts of discrimination or oppression it is critical to understand what institutional racism looks like and the devastating impact it wields on our nation’s people, economy and social institutions. The Groundwater Approach teaches how to use data to measure the systemic impact of racism and to track institutional change.

REI is an alliance of trainers and organizers committed to bringing awareness and analysis to the root causes of racial disparities and disproportionality to create racially equitable organizations and systems.

38 views

Recent Posts

See All

August In-Service

Happy August! On the 19th, Stacy presented the new Court Report Templates. We will not be using the new format until October.  Please contact the office if you have any questions regarding the trainin

June In-Service Training

For this month's in-service, please watch the documentary, "Finding Home: A Foster Youth Story" "The remarkable story of four foster youth preparing for life outside the foster care system. Summer, 17

Judicial District VII CASA, Idaho 

Email: info@casa7.org

Phone: 208-523-6525

Fax: 208-523-5940